Chennai Super Kings (CSK) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Everytime we talk about CSK, it’s impossible not to mention MS Dhoni, who has led the team in all the five winning seasons. But there have been two more players to have captained the Yellow Army in the IPL. Today, in this article, we will find out about Chennai Super Kings (CSK) All Captains List from 2008 to 2024 who they have had previously and how they fared. 

Chennai Super Kings, the five time IPL winners and the defending Champions are the most successful team in the IPL if not the best because of their sheer consistency only, let alone the number of trophies they’ve won. CSK made it to the finals of the IPL in the very first season of 2008 and since then have made nine appearances in IPL finals.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: (2008-2024)

The name ‘MS Dhoni’ is imperious with Chennai Super Kings as he has played a key role in building a large fan following for Chennai in the Indian Premier League (IPL), leading the team as captain every season. Dhoni is the most successful captain in the history of IPL with a win percentage of 61.15% having played the most matches as captain in IPL history- 235. Dhoni also has the most number of matches for CSK under his belt as well with 244 matches. MS Dhoni’s leadership has been instrumental in making CSK one of the most successful teams in IPL history. He is known for his calm demeanour, strategic decision-making, and ability to get the best out of his players. Also Read: Mumbai Indians (MI) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Suresh Kumar Raina: (2008-2021)

One of the key players for CSK and a well-known figure in Indian cricket is Suresh Raina. He demonstrated his excellent batting abilities in the 2008 IPL season and performed well in every role that the team required him to. He was a left-handed batter who was well-known for his reliability at the top of the order. He forged alliances with several openers and gave CSK reliable beginnings. To speed up the scoring rate towards the end of the inning, Raina was also a great finisher. Known as “Mr. IPL,” Raina has amassed 5528 runs for CSK, making him the team’s top run scorer. And years down the line Raina also had to step in as a captain on six occasions due to MS Dhoni’s absence. Raina led the team to two victories, faced three losses, and encountered a tied CSK during his stint as captain.

Ravindra Anirudhsinh Jadeja: (2022)

The weight and responsibility of captaining a side is not easy, especially when it comes to leading the most successful team ever in the history of the IPL and Mr. Ravindra Jadeja, a superstar  all-rounder, was a testament to that very fact. In the IPL 2022, when the world was slowly recovering from COVID and CSK had just come off winning their fourth IPL trophy, Jadeja was named as the CSK Captain, four days before the start of the season because MS Dhoni had decided to step down from Captaincy.

Ravindra Jadeja’s tenure as captain of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) was brief, lasting only eight games of the 2022 IPL season with two wins and six losses.  As Jadeja continued to struggle with bat and ball, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) too had a disappointing performance in the IPL 2022 season, failing to qualify for the playoffs for the first time since the inaugural season in 2008. The following season Jadeja redeems himself as he slammed a six and a four in consecutive deliveries with Chennai requiring ten runs off the last two balls against Gujarat Titans in the IPL 2023 Final. Also Read:

Leave a Comment