Rajasthan Royals (RR) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024 (Present)

The First Ever Champions of the IPL, Rajasthan Royals stunned everyone when they won the 2008 season against all odds. No one gave them a chance to win the IPL when the squads were formed ahead of the inaugural season. In the final of the first-ever season, Rajasthan defeated the mighty Chennai Super Kings. But since then they haven’t been able to replicate the performances in the years that followed. Rajasthan had to also face a major setback for two years (2016, 2017) as they were banned after getting involved in the betting scandal in 2013. Today, in this article, we will find out about Rajasthan Royals (RR) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024 who they have had previously and how they fared. 

Rajasthan Royals (RR) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Shane Warne: (2008-2011)

Shane Warne, the legendary Aussie spinner was appointed as the captain of Rajasthan Royals in the opening season. The team achieved the unthinkable by emerging as the champions defying all odds. Remarkably, one of the all time greats, Shane Warne never got to lead his national side throughout his career.

Shane Warne led the Royals for the first four seasons. However, after the title-winning campaign in the inaugural season, Rajasthan Royals could not replicate their performances under him. In the next three years, they finished 6th, 7th, and 6th respectively with a winning percentage of 56.25%, winning 31 out of 56 matches. Also Read: Mumbai Indians (MI) All Captains List from 2008 to 2024

Shane Watson: (2008-2015)

Shane Watson was pivotal in all the success Rajasthan Royals achieved in the early years. The Australian all-rounder was also the vice-captain of the Rajasthan Royals and filled-in for the full-time Captains whenever called upon. During his time with the Jaipur-based franchise, Shane Watson played under three different captains: Shane Warne, Rahul Dravid, and Steve Smith.

The all-rounder captained the franchise in 21 matches, across his 8 years of service to Rajasthan Royals. Rajasthan Royals won 7 of those 21 games.

Rahul Dravid: (2012-2013)

Leading to the IPL 2011, Rajasthan Royals signed Rahul Dravid, the Great Wall of India to replace Shane Warne as the skipper. The right-handed batter provided significant stability to the Royals and ensured the system continued by placing trust in the youngsters. 

After a challenging season in 2012, where the Royals finished 7th in the points table, Rajasthan Royals reached the playoffs in 2013 for the first time since their title-winning inaugural season. Under the leadership of the legendary batter, Rajasthan Royals played 40 games and secured 23 wins with a winning percentage of 57.50%. Also Read: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Steve Smith: (2014-2015, 2019, 2020)

Steven Smith had the honour of leading Rajasthan Royals for four years. The Aussie batter was appointed the captain of the team in 2014 and the team missed the playoffs spot narrowly having finished fifth in the points table. Following that, Rajasthan Royals was banned for two years due to a betting and match-fixing scandal before returning in 2018.

Steve Smith was banned by the Australian Cricket Board in 2018 as well, for a year due to the ball-tampering debacle. In 2019, the middle-order batter returned to the franchise and got the captaincy halfway through the season. However, his leadership failed to motivate the team, resulting in Rajasthan Royals finishing 7th in 2019. Their performance deteriorated further the following season, with the team finishing at the bottom in 2020.

Ajinkya Rahane (2018)

In 2018 due to the absence of Steve Smith, Indian veteran Ajinkya Rahane got an opportunity to lead Rajasthan Royals. He did well enough leading the Royals to the playoffs for successive seasons and the third time in the last four seasons.

Despite the return of Steve Smith, Ajinkya Rahane remained as the captain. However, the team failed to replicate their performances from the previous season. After a series of poor results, Rahane was removed as the skipper, and Steve Smith was reinstated. Also Read: Delhi Capitals (DC) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Sanju Samson: (2021 – Present)

The Rajasthan management decided to revamp the whole system ahead of the 2021 season. They appointed the young Indian wicketkeeper-batter from Kerala, Sanju Samson as the new Captain, keeping in mind the future. Samson failed horribly as a captain in his first season as Rajasthan Royals finished 7th in the points table. However, the Royals maintained their trust in the youngster and allowed him to continue as the captain in IPL 2022 as well.

And their leap of faith bare fruits as the Royals had the best-ever run in the league in the IPL 2022 since the inaugural season. Rajasthan Royals narrowly missed out on the championship as they reached the final of the IPL. They were defeated by the debutants Gujarat Titans in the final match, leaving their quest for a second title ongoing.

While the Royals didn’t reach the playoffs in the IPL 2023. They finished the season fifth in the league stage, narrowly missing out on a playoff spot. Sanju Samson will continue to be the captain of the Rajasthan Royals for the IPL 2024 season.

Leave a Comment