Shamar Joseph led West Indies to a historic win, beat Australia in Gabba after 27 years

Shamar Joseph, the Guyanese cricket player, disrupted one of the historic records of the Australian Cricket Team at the Gabba, Brisbane. The West Indies Cricket Team defeated Australia in their fortress in Gabba after a span of 27 years. The West Indies became the second team to defeat Australia in Gabba after the Indian Cricket Team, who defeated them in 2021. The young Carribean cricketer bowled a spell of 1/56 in the first inning and 7/68 in the second. Apart from this, he also contributed with his magnificent fielding.

He got injured on Day 3 while batting due to a toe-crushing yorker bowled by Australian veteran Mitchell Starc. There was no clearance for his participation on Day 4 due to his injury. Joseph caused a collapse of 4 for 23 before dinner that the hosts were unable to bounce back from instead of Steve Smith’s fighting knock of 91* on 146 balls. Smith gave his everything, but the pitch and conditions made it difficult for him to get some support from the other end.

This match also broke Australia’s 11-match winning streak of day-night test matches.

Before 2021, the Australians had never lost a match in Gabba, Brisbane, since the first match played there 32 years ago. As of 2024, two teams have breached the Australian Cricket Team in Gabba.

Shamar took the wickets of Cameroon Green, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, and Josh Hazlewood. In this match, he handed Travis Head a king pair, which means bowling out for a duck in both innings of a test match.

Credit for this victory also goes to Kavem Hodge, Joshua da Silva, and Kirk McKenzie for their strong and dominant batting performances. Players like Alzarri Joseph, Justin Greaves, and Kemar Roach contributed with the ball.

This dominant performance will light up the dream of every young boy in the Caribbean who wants to become like their heroes.

Brian Lara and Carl Hoopers were in tears due to this dominant display of guts and passion by the young cricketers.

Leave a Comment