LSG All Captains List: How Many Players Have Captained Lucknow Super Giants In IPL History

In August 2021, Lucknow Super Giants was also introduced alongside Gujarat Titans when the Indian Premier League’s Governing Council issued an invitation to tender for two new sides. Owned by Sanjiv Goenka-owned RPSG Group and coached by Aussie Justin Langer the Lucknow based franchise couldn’t really replicate the success of their cohort. Despite their short history, they’ve shown promise with consistent performance in the group stages. Today, in this article, we will find out about Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) All Captains List From 2022 To 2024 who they have had previously and how they fared. 

KL Rahul: (2022-2024)

KL Rahul was chosen as the captain of Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) upon their entry into the IPL in 2022. They haven’t lifted the IPL trophy yet under him, but have shown promising performances with the bat in hand as well as a captain. KL has a winning percentage of 58.33% as a captain with 14 matches won out of the 24 he’s captained in losing 10. In their maiden 2022 season LSG finished third in the group stage, qualifying for the playoffs. However, they were eliminated in the Eliminator match against Royal Challengers Bangalore. The following season in 2023 they again secured the third position in the group stage, reaching the playoffs.

Unfortunately for LSG and for KL Rahul he got injured in the latter stages of the IPL resulting in Krunal Pandya, LSG Vice-captain to take over. Their journey ended in the Eliminator stage, this time losing to Mumbai Indians. While LSG hasn’t won the IPL yet under Rahul’s captaincy, their consistent performance in the group stages and reaching the playoffs twice in a row showcases his leadership potential. And with the upcoming IPL 2024, it remains to be seen if Rahul can lead LSG to their first IPL title with a new deputy by his side in the form of Nicholas Pooran. Also Read: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Krunal Pandya: (2023)

Krunal led the team in six matches during the 2023 season due to KL Rahul’s injury and won 3 matches out of the 6 he captained with one being held to a draw and losing the other two. Pandya didn’t particularly display his peak performance while being the captain of the franchise in 2023, but his contributions with both bat and ball helped LSG win 3 out of the 6 matches he led. Chennai Super Kings (CSK) All Captains List From 2008 To 2024

Leave a Comment